Experimenting

Well, this morning I worked on some 24″ x 30″canvases that already had images on them – adding things, covering up things, creating new work.  And then I did some experimenting. I had seen a video on YouTube.com which interested me regarding transferring inkjet pictures to paper.  Yesterday, I experimented on watercolor paper, rice paper, and canvas with some very interesting results.  This morning I tried the technique on a canvas that had a painted background and it didn’t work, so I got an unpainted canvas and did a transfer.  After doing one, I simply removed the image and put it down in another position on the canvas and this was the result:

Image

I’m not sure where this will go.  This image is of one of the large paintings that is being added to right now, so the original image just lives as a digital picture on my computer.  For those of you who may want to experiment with transferring from ink jet prints – check out YouTube.com    My technique doesn’t give a very sharp image (one of the techniques on YouTube does), but you don’t have to buy a lot of materials.  I simply watered down acrylic gloss gel (matte gel would be fine too, I think), spread some on the canvas or paper where I wanted the image, and lay the image down.  I then brushed water over the back of the image, lay a clean piece of paper over the image and rubbed a bit, then lifted both off using a pair of tweezers to grab the corner of the paper.  The right hand image was the one I just lay on after doing the left hand one…. in that case, the canvas had no gel and I didn’t re-wet anything – just lay it down and rubbed it.  I like it.  Experimenting gives me new ideas and new ways of working.

Well, back to painting.  Have a great week and thanks for joining me.  Chris

Leave a Reply

