June 2, 2012 – How Things Happen

This Light – A Gathering of Spirits – Acrylic on 24″ x 24″ canvas

This Light is a painting that called me from sleep one night many years ago.  I finally got up.  I went to the studio and selected a square canvas.  Drawing the circle, I wet the canvas around it and applied blue and purple acrylic paint, using the colors as I would use watercolor.  Then I went back to sleep.  In the morning, the paint had created the blue line you see running up from the lower left corner.

The vision that awakened me, was of thousands of beings coming in to a place of light.   When I began to paint the beings, I realized that it would be pretty crowded if I painted thousands of them…. so I painted 11.  Before I had finished, a tiny drop of paint fell on the white circle.  “Oh no!” I thought, “Now what?”  I took a paper towel and swiped it upward across the paint and the next being appeared….  Many comet-like beings coming in to join the 11.

This is not an unusual occurrence for me.  I often am awakened by an image, see an image in meditation, or have a sense of a painting while doing something else.  Creating is like breathing for me – it fills and nourishes me.  My paintings unfold in many wonderful and surprising ways.

This began when I was a child.  One day, when I was about 4 years old, I was pouring orange juice into a clear glass when all of a sudden, it was no longer juice.  It became color and form, and movement and sound.  I knew when it reached the top of the glass, and spilled over onto the white wooden tabletop, a pattern would form.  As that happened, my smile lit the whole room, and my way of seeing the world was forever changed.

Thank you for joining me on my journey.  In future weeks, I will post more images and tell you about them.  Some will be from the past and many will be things I am currently working on.

Leave a Reply

